Skip to Navigation
Oregon State University Skip to main content

Your path starts here. This is your place to explore, challenge yourself, discover who you are and who you want to become.

people walking across the Valley Library quad with the bell tower in the background

Your Path Starts Here

Oregon State University was founded more than 150 years ago as a land grant institution, building on the idea that everybody deserves an extraordinary education that’s attainable and accessible. Here you can determine your purpose, shape your identity and values and become who you want to be.

As Oregon’s largest university, we draw people from all 50 states and more than 100 countries to a welcoming community that supports success, well-being and belonging for all. We are constantly learning, innovating and applying new skills to make the world better. You can too.

Oregon's Best Research University

With nearly 200 degree programs Oregon State has a path to the career and future you always wanted. Find your major.

#2 Forestry
in the World

#3 Oceanography
in the World

#5 Best Online Bachelor’s
Degrees in the U.S.

#2 Best Agricultural Colleges
in the U.S.

Gold Rating for
Bike Friendliness

#2 Friendliest College
Town in America

Committee and Committee Member Awards and Recognition

ASCE Wallace Hayward Baker Award

The Wallace Hayward Baker Award was established in the year 2000 by the Geo-Institute in recognition of the creative and innovative contributions of Wallace Hayward Baker in the field of ground modification. The award is given in recognition of ingenious innovation in the field of ground modification, particularly the resourceful development of a new technology and or the creative application of existing technology to achieve field performance not previously demonstrated. More information on the ASCE Wallace Hayward Baker Award can be found here.


2000: Alvaro Lopez-Ruis, Ph.D.
2001: Francis B. Gularte
2003: Raymond J. Krizek, Ph.D., P.E.
2004: Donald A. Bruce, Ph.D.
2005: Joseph P. Welsh, P.E.
2006: Nathaniel S. Fox, Ph.D., P.E.
2007: Reuben H. Karol, Ph.D.
2008: George A. Munfakh, Ph.D., P.E
2011: George K. Burke, P.E.
2013: James Collin, Ph.D., P.E., D.GE, F.ASCE
2014: Rick Deschamps, Ph.D., P.E.
2015: Paul Schmall, P.E., D.GE, F.ASCE
2016: George Filz, Ph.D., P.E., Dist.M.ASCE
2017: James D. Hussin, P.E., M.ASCE